25~ RoadTrip.pk

Eagle Nest;

We witnessed the diversity of Attabad Lake again, as we crossed it that evening. I may elaborate the three completely different views of Attabad Lake we ventured. At first it was covered with clouds, no reflections and the colour of the water was greener. Then it was clear as crystal with some amazing reflections of the mountains around it and the bright sunlight shimmering on it, making the colour a little bluish. At the end, the last time we saw it in the evening after Asar time, the sun was down the reflections were gone just the dark shadows from one side and the colour of the water was dark blue. The mixer of blue and black made the lake look different.

Our way back from khunjerab pass went with interesting adventure. Bhaiya suddenly remembered that there’s a place we can visit, on our way to our guest house. The Eagle Nest.

‘Yaseen sahab, can you take us to the Eagle Nest it’s on our way. It’s almost sunset and it’s the best time for going there.’ Bhaiya requested the driver.

‘O sir, the coaster is heated up after all this drive. We can’t take it all the way up to the eagle nest.’ For the first time Yaseen sahab said no to anything, it was just a little detour and we had also stopped at the Sust to freshen up and bought rice from the grocery store for our dinner, we had planned to make Biryani from the night before’s leftover uncooked chicken. The unfortunate BBQ.

It seems that if you have to make the drivers do what you want. You have to tell your plans beforehand otherwise they’ll just can’t change their little minds right away.

‘The coaster had been travelling to many heights all of our tour. You didn’t say that before, why do you think it’s heated up now? It’s just a little way up. I know I’ve been there.’ Bhaiya insisted but the driver was not at all in the mood to be challenged.

Our driver muttered something in Punjabi, his face was red and furious with the thought yet thankfully we heard him mumble okay and he turn the coaster to the path that went up to the eagle point.

After five minutes of drive up the track. Our coaster screeched and started fumbling backwards. The road was almost 65-degree slant and our coaster was speeding down ways from its back. It was a horrible sight.

The coaster echoed with safety prayers like Ayat-ul-kursi.

The moment our driver braked and the bus went still. The big boys went out and settled rocks beneath the back tires to give the coaster some support.

‘Everyone get out of the bus hurry.’ They said in unison.

‘Just take the kids and move out.’ My husband came and picked Shaji.

My heart was beating hard when I first stepped out.

The driver and the boys (All the husband’s and Emad) were busy making the coaster move up and turn around so that we could go back to our guest house as it was evident that our visit to Eagle Nest was over before it even started. It was almost impossible to get what really had happened there. If the coaster really was heated up or was it just the driver, making excuses yet it was hell dangerous stuff if he did it on purpose.

I turned my attention towards the surroundings where they left us females and kids, the place we were standing on, was roof of a village house by the road. Merged into the step farming done by the residents which was amazing. A beautiful sight. The sound of the coaster vanished into the sky as they drove past us to find a place to turn it around and the atmosphere became calm and still.

There was a big cow tied to the nearby oak tree. The most exclusive gift for Nehdia and party to play with.

‘Look there’s a cow.’ Nehdia went straight towards the cow, without even thinking twice.

‘Oh, no Nehdia please come back here it’ll kick you.’ While Api was busy telling her not to go near. I was busy keeping shaji away from it too.

Suddenly we heard a shrill scream I turned around and saw Nehdia running furiously away from the caw. Then I noticed that one of the villagers came by and untied the cow with an intention to take it to the shades. Everyone started laughing as it was for the first time of all our trip that we witnessed Nehdia being scared of something.

‘Assalamualaikum, welcome.’ Greeted a woman coming out from beneath the roof. She was wearing the traditional dress of Hunza.

‘Wàlikumassallam, do you live here?’ bhabhi greeted back and shook hands with her.

‘Well I’m a native but I’ve come from Karachi as I live there now.’ she replied and her reply made me jump. We all started shaking hands with her and few more ladies.

‘This lady came from Karachi, can you imagine?’ I whispered to the nearest which unfortunately Taymia again.

‘Tell me about it.’ Taymia smirked.

‘Is there a problem can we help you with anything?’ the lady inquired.

Apa started telling our story but before it could get somewhere our coaster came back from up the track facing downwards. Bhaiya and emad who were waiting for it with large rocks in their hands went straight to arrange the rocks beneath the tires.

‘Let’s go hop in, as quickly as you can.’ Riaz bhai hurriedly said and we all rushed back into our coaster without wasting a minute.

In about fifteen minutes we were back to Pamir guest house. Relaxing and stretching our legs. Some started watching TV, some went straight to bed and this time the some who went straight to bed included me. Yeah, there were times when you can’t take it anymore. That day it happened to me. I really don’t know what happened the meantime I was snoring warmly tucked into my bed.

When I woke up there was silence outside and the first thing I noticed was the smell, beautiful mouthwatering smell. I peeked out of my room and saw a huge vessel on the stove.

‘Hey what’s up? Biryani in progress? Did you get some sleep or you were up all the time?’ I asked Api who was busy draining the water from the rice with the help of emad.

‘Nah I’ll get my rest afterwards. It was our day for cooking as Apa and family went for shopping.’

‘Oh, and I betrayed you. I don’t know what came through me. I was fast asleep before I knew. I had the most beautiful slumber of our trip.’

‘Don’t worry it was nothing besides I have got the help I wanted, it’s almost done now. The most difficult part was finding this vessel (Pateeli) for it.’

‘Yeah, where did you get this one from. It’s not new, right?’

‘Well we borrowed it from the hotel management, besides this one’s not big enough so we’ll be dividing the rice in two.’ she Pointed out to another considerably small vessel waiting to be used.

Most of you would say why to bother cooking when we were on vacations. That was what Shahid bhai was saying all our trip;

‘Give a break to your daily chores and let us eat from hotels and restaurants. They are there for us.’

As us being us, we cannot leave this golden opportunity to enjoy cooking to its greater extent. We love adventure and adventure does not start unless you dig deep into it. What fun could there be, if we didn’t have to cook. Besides that’s the whole point of our trip together. Enjoying every happening, working together to overcome all the little mishaps, was the most ambitious fun we could ever have.

‘The Raita is ready; do you want anything else.’ Inquired Bhabi coming out from her room.

‘Tanzeela could you please call everyone out. It’s almost done I’ll be serving soon.’ It seemed like the moment Api said those words Apa and party heard her and came back from the shopping expedition they were having. All of a sudden, the place turned into a fish market.

Some were busy showing their shopping.

Some started serving their kids.

The whole lobby was filled with us. Eating and enjoying the party.

‘Baba, you said you’ll take me to buy my gift. When are you going to?’ Ali was asking this very question again and again.

‘Yes, okay get your shoes.’ Finally, my husband agreed to take the kids out to shop for themselves.

We searched for something appropriate for a boy like Ali but unfortunately, the shops were more filled with stuff for ladies interest than any men. That was a bomber that I never noticed it before.

Zunaira got a set of emerald tops and a small jewellery box made from paper mache, Hadia settled on a body bag with traditional embroidery panels on it but the boys came back empty-handed.

There were few things of Ali’s interest like an antique sword and a dagger but they were antique and the adjective that comes with that word is always expensive. So we had to explain to the kid that it’s out of our reach.

Let me explain expensive here. When I asked the shopkeeper about the price. He smiled and said leave it be and when I insisted, he said it’s fifty thousand rupees for the dagger smiling wildly.

My jaws opened ajar with disbelief. I never bothered to ask the price of the rest of that stuff.

When we came back we saw a different picture altogether all was silent and still. The lobby was clean and tidy. The elders were still up working softly and packing their stuff.

‘We have to start our journey back to Naran before nine o’clock in the morning so please pack your stuff tonight.’

‘Ah, if there’s a morning I get to sleep more.’ I smirked although if they give me time to do so I won’t sleep for a minute. I always love mornings in those places. We all do even the sleeping beauties would get up early to enjoy the morning lights.

Leave a comment